Faculty & Staff Directory

Faculty & Staff Directory

Mech Reception

CEME 2054
Telephone: 604-822-2781
Fax: 604-822-2403
Email: reception@mech.ubc.ca (for general admin)

hr@mech.ubc.ca (for all faculty/staff/student/visitor appointments)

>> Find an Expert
>> Browse by Research Area


Name & Contact Info Research Area Research Interests
Abelló, Juan
Instructor
abello@mech.ubc.ca
(604) 822-2937
KAIS 1132
Thermofluids
Aerodynamics
Rotorcraft aerodynamics, rotorcraft aeroacoustics, blade-vortex interaction (BVI) noise reduction.
Yusuf Atlintas Altintas, Yusuf
Professor
altintas@mech.ubc.ca
(604) 822-5622
KAIS 3102
Mechatronics and Manufacturing
Manufacturing Automation
Chatter stability of machining operations, virtual machining process modeling, simulation and optimization, trajectory generation and motion control of high speed machine tools, dynamics of high speed spindles, precision machining, and sensors and actuators for machine tool testing and monitoring.
Nima Atabaki, Nima
Senior Instructor
natabaki@mech.ubc.ca
(604) 827-4065
ICICS 173
Thermofluids
Heat and Mass Transfer
Loop heat pipes, two-phase fluid flow and heat transfer, effective thermal conductivity of fluid saturated sintered powder metal plates, and HVAC systems.
Mattia Bacca, Mattia
Assistant Professor
mbacca@mech.ubc.ca
(604) 827-5076
ICICS 165
Design and Applied Mechanics
Mechanics of Materials
Mechanics of functional materials, such as gecko-inspired adhesives, high toughness elastomers, hydrogels, and nanostructured metal alloys.
Kendal Bushe Bushe, Kendal
Associate Professor
wkb@mech.ubc.ca
(604) 822-3398
CEME 2069
Thermofluids
Turbulent Combustion
Numerical simulation of turbulent combustion in internal combustion engines and gas turbines, model development for turbulence/chemistry interactions, chemical kinetic mechanism development, and renewable fuels for heavy-duty transportation and stationary power applications.
Mu Chiao Chiao, Mu
Professor
muchiao@mech.ubc.ca
(604) 822-4902
CEME 2054B
Biomedical Engineering
Mechatronics and Manufacturing
Bio-MEMS, Nanoscience and Nanoengineering
Micro-energy sources, protein-MEMS interaction, MEMS-based photonic devices, design, fabrication and packing of MEMS for biological applications.
Cripton headshot Cripton, Peter
Professor (on sabbatical)
cripton@mech.ubc.ca
(604) 822-6629
CEME 2063
Design and Applied Mechanics
Biomedical Engineering
Biomechanics of Human Injury
Biomechanics and prevention of spinal cord, spinal column and brain injuries and of hip fractures. Developing a helmet-mounted device to prevent cervical spine injuries in sports and transportation, helmet efficacy, and novel helmet design.
Croft headshot Croft, Elizabeth
Professor and Associate Dean, Education and Professional Development
ecroft@mech.ubc.ca
(604) 822-6614
CEME 2059
Mechatronics and Manufacturing
Robotics
Development and testing of compliant, intuitive, and stable human-robot interaction, vision guided robotic bin picking with visual servoing, visibility metrics, collision avoidance and vision guided grasp planning, and low jerk motion planning.
Agnes d'Entremont d’Entremont, Agnes
Instructor
agnes.dentremont@mech.ubc.ca
(604) 827-1960
KAIS 1130
Biomedical Engineering
Biomechanics
Ongoing research into hip and knee biomechanics, including advanced MRI imaging of joint kinematics, loading and cartilage properties, including weight bearing MRI; 3D joint shape and range of motion analysis; and the application of shape, range of motion, and cartilage health measures to childhood joint disorders.
de Silva headshot de Silva, Clarence
Professor
desilva@mech.ubc.ca
(604) 822-6291
CEME 2071
Mechatronics and Manufacturing
Robotics
Instrumentation (sensing, actuation, communication, etc.) and intelligent control of industrial processes, intelligent cooperative robotics for safety/security-critical urban environments, design, assessment, and operation of mechatronic systems using Mechatronic Design Quotient (MDQ) and soft computing (fuzzy logic, neural networks, and genetic algorithms), and machine health monitoring and supervisory control using intelligent multi-sensor fusion.
Gwynn Elfring Elfring, Gwynn
Assistant Professor
gelfring@mech.ubc.ca
(604) 822-1287
ICICS 181
Thermofluids
Mathematical Modeling
Ongoing research into the mechanics of soft matter, including cell biomechanics, mechanics of active suspensions, interfacial rheology and instabilities, and non-Newtonian flow physics.
Hsi-Yung (Steve) Feng Feng, Hsi-Yung (Steve)
Professor (on sabbatical)
feng@mech.ubc.ca
(604) 822-1366
CEME 2067
Mechatronics and Manufacturing
CAD/CAM
Highly flexible CAD modeling, generalized CNC simulation and verification, multi-axis sculptured surface machining, scanned point cloud data processing, and geometric inspection using 3D laser scanning.
Markus Fengler Fengler, Markus
Lecturer
mfengler@mech.ubc.ca
(604) 827-5655
KAIS 1190C
Engineering design, machine shop practice, design for disability, and sustainable development.
Ian Frigaard Frigaard, Ian
Professor
frigaard@math.ubc.ca
(604) 822-1316
ICICS 177
Thermofluids
Mathematical Modeling, Fluid Mechanics
Ongoing research in shear instabilities, Rayleigh-Bénard flows, bubble propagation, particle sedimentation, visco-plastic lubrication, and Taylor-Couette instabilities, recent subjects in industrial mathematical modeling have included InSb crystal growth, injection molding, and waxy crude oil pipeline restarts.
Mohamed Gadala Gadala, Mohamed S
Professor
gadala@mech.ubc.ca
(604) 822-2777
ICICS 167
Design and Applied Mechanics
Finite Element Applications
Industry solution procedure for crack detection and propagation in rotating components, steel run-out table design, and electric fatigue of piezoelectric actuators.
Dana Grecov Grecov, Dana
Associate Professor
dgrecov@mech.ubc.ca
(604) 822-6710
CEME 2060
Biomedical Engineering
Thermofluids
Biofluids, Fluid Mechanics
Experimental and mathematical modeling of industrial processes, mathematical modeling and simulation of liquid crystalline materials, rheology of complex fluids, non-Newtonian fluid mechanics, computational fluid dynamics, biofluid mechanics.
Sheldon Green Green, Sheldon
Professor and Dept. Head
green@mech.ubc.ca
(604) 822-0497
CEME 2058
Thermofluids
Fluid Mechanics
Developing a model of the fibre deposition and dewatering process in paper making, spraying of non-Newtonian fluids, minimizing electrical power consumption in paper mills by improving pulp pump efficiency, and measuring and reducing snow friction of skis (in conjunction with the Canadian Olympic Committee).
Antony Hodgson Hodgson, Antony
Professor
ahodgson@mech.ubc.ca
(604) 822-3240
EDC 234
Design and Applied Mechanics
Biomedical Engineering
Mechatronics and Manufacturing
Medical Robots, Biomechanics
Developing tools for computer-assisted orthopaedic surgery based on phase-processing of 3D ultrasound images to provide realtime 3D imaging information and on mini-robotic devices to enhance accuracy and shorten surgical time; designing a 3D scale model of the human eye to study sensorimotor issues; comparing surgical motor performance in simulators and the live operating room to validate simulators.
Jasmin Jelovica Jelovica, Jasmin
Assistant Professor
jjelovica@mech.ubc.ca
(604) 827-5071
CEME 2208E
Design and Applied Mechanics
Naval Architecture
Lightweight structures, Marine structures, Finite element analysis, Ultimate strength, Fatigue strength, Structural optimization, Structural longevity.
Jin, Xiaoliang
Assistant Professor
xjin@mech.ubc.ca
(604) 827-3541
KAIS 3103
Mechatronics and Manufacturing
Design and Applied Mechanics
 Surface integrity in manufacturing processes, machining mechanics and dynamics, material response in manufacturing, vibration assisted machining, surface texturing, precision manufacturing.
Patrick Kirchen Kirchen, Patrick
Assistant Professor
pkirchen@mech.ubc.ca
(604) 822-8256
CEME 2062
Thermofluids
Combustion
Thermal energy conversion, combustion, internal combustion engines, ion transport membranes.
Hongshen Ma Ma, Hongshen
Associate Professor
hongma@mech.ubc.ca
(604) 827-4703
KAIS 3105
Biomedical Engineering
Mechatronics and Manufacturing
Microfluids and Biomedical Device Design
Microfluidic cell sorting by mechanical deformability, low-cost malaria detection device, microfluidic cell sorting by dielectrophoresis, magnetic endotracheal tube sensor, electrical impedance myography.
Christopher McKesson McKesson, Christopher
Instructor
mckesson@mech.ubc.ca
(604) 827-0622
CEME 2208G
Thermofluids
Naval Architecture
A long-standing interest in high-speed ships and unconventional hull forms has now evolved into the study of unconventional missions and features, such as the design of ships for minimum environmental impact, or maximum human effectiveness, or other concerns currently under-represented at the design table.
Walter Merida Mérida, Walter
Professor
walter.merida@ubc.ca
(604) 822-4189
CHBE 297A
Thermofluids
Clean Energy Systems
Energy systems (climate disruption), fuel cell technology (durability and reliability), and hydrogen infrastructures (refueling stations for fuel cell vehicles).
Jon Mikkelsen Mikkelsen, Jon
Professor of Teaching and Director, Naval Architecture and Marine Engineering
mikk@mech.ubc.ca
(604) 822-2709
CEME 2208H
Thermofluids
Naval Architecture
Developing a vertical axis tidal turbine for power generation, and collaborating with First Nations to develop live capture fishing technologies.
Ryozo Nagamune Nagamune, Ryozo
Associate Professor
nagamune@mech.ubc.ca
(604) 827-4344
KAIS 3104
Mechatronics and Manufacturing
Robust and Optimal Control
Modeling and system identification; model validation and simplification, controller and estimator design, analysis and implementation, and related optimization and computational algorithms, and in control applications, hard disk drive servo, machine-tool servo, MEMS control, and robotics.
Carl Ollivier-Gooch Ollivier-Gooch, Carl
Professor
cfog@mech.ubc.ca
(604) 822-1854
CEME 2050
Thermofluids
Aerodynamics
Developing high-order accurate methods for compressible, turbulent flows, with applications in aerodynamics, aerodynamic optimization, and unstructured mesh generation from CAD data.
James Olson Olson, James
Professor and interim Dean
olson@mech.ubc.ca
(604) 822-5705
PPC 205
Thermofluids
Pulp and Paper
Reducing electrical energy consumption in pulping, developing a mathematical model of fibre orientation and concentration in turbulent flow, and design of a high performance, low energy pulp screen rotor.
Peter Ostafichuk Ostafichuk, Peter
Professor of Teaching
ostafichuk@mech.ubc.ca
(604) 822-9614
CEME 2053A
Thermofluids
Aerodynamics
Aerodynamics of sport, general aerodynamics, hydrodynamics.
Oxland headshot Oxland, Tom
Professor
toxland@mail.ubc.ca
(604) 675-8834
#5330 – 818 West 10th Ave
Design and Applied Mechanics
Biomedical Engineering
Orthopaedic Research
Revision hip replacement, fixation of the osteoporotic spine, regeneration of damaged neural tissue, behaviour of orthopaedic implants, and musculoskeletal tissues.
Srikanth Phani Phani, Anasavarapu Srikantha
Associate Professor
srikanth@mech.ubc.ca
(604) 822-6998
CEME 2061
Design and Applied Mechanics
Biomedical Engineering
Dynamics and vibrations; mechanics of materials
Dynamic response of lattice materials and structures; mechanics of nanomaterials; structural vibroacoustics; lattice mechanics of stents.
Mauricio Ponga Ponga, Mauricio
Assistant Professor
mponga@mech.ubc.ca
(604) 822-9015
ICICS 175
Design and Applied Mechanics Multiscale modeling of materials; temporal and spatial coarse grained molecular dynamics; coarse grained density functional theory; large scale computer simulations.
Vladin Prodanovic Prodanovic, Vladan
Senior Instructor and Associate Director CEEN Clean Energy Research
vladan.prodanovic@ubc.ca
(604) 827-4239
CHBE 241
Thermofluids
Thermodynamics, two-phase flow and heat transfer, jet impingment boiling, HVAC
Theoretical studies and models of the boiling phenomena and their applications in nuclear industry and metallurgy, jet impingement boiling and heat transfer modeling for improvement of cooling techniques during steel production in hot strip and hot plate mills.
Rogak Headshot Rogak, Steve
Professor and Graduate Advisor
rogak@mech.ubc.ca
(604) 822-4149
CEME 2064
Thermofluids
Particle Systems and Energy Conservation
Measurement of environmentally-relevant properties of soot nanoparticles. Aerosols in buildings. Control of emissions from combustion systems.
Robert Rohling Rohling, Robert
Professor and Director ICICS
rrohling@mech.ubc.ca
(604) 822-2045
KAIS 3059
Biomedical Engineering
Mechatronics and Manufacturing
Medical Imaging, Biomedical Devices
New acquisition techniques for 2D and 3D ultrasound, medical image processing, medical image guidance systems, and navigating very large medical image datasets. Applications in diagnostics, anesthesia, surgery, and radiation therapy.
Farrokh Sassani Sassani, Farrokh
Professor
sassani@mech.ubc.ca
(604) 822-6671
CEME 2057
Mechatronics and Manufacturing
Manufacturing, Automation
Fault detection and diagnosis in hydraulic systems, and kinematic and dynamic modeling and analysis of wheelchair propulsion.
Gary Schajer Schajer, Gary
Professor
schajer@mech.ubc.ca
(604) 822-6004
CEME 2055
Design and Applied Mechanics
Measurement of Residual Stresses, Wood Quality Control
Developing methods to measure residual stresses suitable for industry use through ESPI and strain-gauge techniques, developing high-speed scanner to measure surface profile of rapidly moving lumber to enhance cut accuracy, and identifying lumber properties using microwave techniques.
Boris Stoeber Stoeber, Boris
Professor
stoeber@mech.ubc.ca
(604) 827-5907
KAIS 3112
Biomedical Engineering
Mechatronics and Manufacturing
Thermofluids
MEMS, Microfluids
Flow control in microfluidic devices, complex microflows, microflow characterization methods, micro-optical devices, biomedical microdevices, and sensor technology.
Szeri, Andrew
Professor, Provost, and VP Academic
Fluid dynamics, nonlinear dynamics, computational neuroscience
Tatiana Teslenko Teslenko, Tatiana
Professor of Teaching
teslenko@apsc.ubc.ca
(604) 822-8190
CEME 2066
Engineering communication, intercultural communication, rhetoric and composition.
Machiel Van der Loos Van der Loos, Machiel
Associate Professor and Associate Head, External
vdl@mech.ubc.ca
(604) 827-4479
EDC 231
Biomedical Engineering
Design and Applied Mechanics
Medical Robotics
Development of mechatronic exercise systems for movement therapy and diagnostic technologies for improved sleep quality; research into human-robot interaction, the neurophysiology of standing balance and the field of roboethics.
Zimmerman, Naomi
Assistant Professor
nzimmerman@mech.ubc.ca
CEME 2066
Thermofluids
Air Pollution, Urban Sustainability, Climate Change
Air pollution and climate impacts of policy interventions, renewable energy technology, low-cost sensing, traffic-related air pollution, aerosols.
Name Contact Info Office
Bury, Karl
Professor Emeritus
kjbury7@gmail.com
Calisal, Sander M.
Professor Emeritus
sander.calisal@gmail.com
(604) 822-3770
CEME 2203B
Cramond, Patrick
Sr. Instructor Emeritus
pcramond@mech.ubc.ca
Dunwoody, Bruce
Associate Professor Emeritus
dunwoody@mech.ubc.ca
Evans, Robert L.
Professor Emeritus
evans@mech.ubc.ca
(604) 822-3484
CEME 2203F
Homsy, Bud
Professor Emeritus
bud@math.ubc.ca
(604) 822-3783
Math Annex 1215
Hutton, Stanley G.
Professor Emeritus
huttonstan@gmail.com
(604) 822-3904
CEME 2203D
Iqbal, Muhammad
Professor Emeritus
iqbal@mail.ubc.ca
Douglas Romilly Romilly, Douglas
Professor Emeritus
romilly@mech.ubc.ca
(604) 822-5604
 CEME 2203A
Martha Salcudean Salcudean, Martha
Professor Emerita
msal@mech.ubc.ca
(604) 822-2732
CEME 2203E
Yellowley, Ian
Professor Emeritus
yellowley@mech.ubc.ca
(604) 822-3528
CEME 2203C
Name Position Email Phone Location / Office
Allan, Robert Adjunct Professor rgallan@ral.ca
Asaee, Rasoul Sessional Lecturer rasoul.asaee@mech.ubc.ca
Amouzgar, Brian Adjunct Professor bamouzgar@mech.ubc.ca
Dalpke, Barbara Sessional Lecturer dalpke@mech.ubc.ca
Eadie, Donald Adjunct Professor dteadie@gmail.com
Erol, Arda Adjunct Professor
Eyking, Adrianna Sessional Lecturer adrianna@mech.ubc.ca CEME 2205A
Fleming, Sandra Adjunct Professor CEME 2208
Gamage, Lalith Adjunct Professor gamage@mech.ubc.ca
Gelbart, Dan Adjunct Professor dan.gelbart@gmail.com
Gooding, Robert Adjunct Professor Robert.Gooding@aikawagroup.com
Hollett, Mark Sessional Lecturer hollettm@gmail.com CEME 2208
Koenig, Philip Crowell Adjunct Professor pckoenig@mit.edu
Mallakzadeh, Mohammadreza Sessional Instructor mallak@mech.ubc.ca CEME 2208
McGreer, Dan Adjunct Professor dan.mcgreer@vard.com 
Mehrandezh, Mehran Visiting Professor
Parsons, Gregg Adjunct Professor gparsons@mech.ubc.ca KAIS 1190
Rawlings, Bill Adjunct Professor bill.rawlings@mech.ubc.ca CEME 2208
Seraj, M. Mohsen Sessional Instructor seraj@mech.ubc.ca CEME 2208
Sielmann, Christoph Adjunct Professor
Stana, Vitorio Sessional Instructor vstana@mech.ubc.ca CEME 2208
Takaffoli, Mahdi Sessional Instructor m.takaffoli@ubc.ca
Tarnai-Lokhorst, Katherina Veronica Sessional Instructor kathy.tarnailokhorst@mech.ubc.ca CEME 2208
Vakil, Ali Adjunct Professor ali.vakil@gmail.com CEME 2208
Winkelman, Paul Sessional Instructor pwinkel@mech.ubc.ca 604-822-6762 CEME 2208
Name Position Email Phone Location / Office
Amiri, Shahram Research Associate
Blouin, Jean – Sebastien Associate Professor
MacLean, Karon Professor maclean@cs.ubc.ca 604-822-8169 CS
Martinez, D. Mark Professor martinez@chbe.ubc.ca 604-822-2693 CHBE
Wilson, David Associate Professor david.wilson@ubc.ubc.ca 604-875-4428 ORTHO
Name Contact Info Office
Austin, Josy
Program Assistant (interim)
josy.austin@ubc.ca
(604) 822-6584
CEME 2054D
Rico Choi Headshot Choi, Rico
Human Resources Specialist
rico@mech.ubc.ca
(604) 822-6367
CEME 2054
Monica Clarkson Headshot Clarkson, Monica
Facilities & Safety Assistant
monica@mech.ubc.ca
(604) 822-3738
CEME 2054E
Clayton Headshot Clayton, Sarah
Program & Advising Coordinator, Student Services
sarah@mech.ubc.ca
(604) 822-4350
CEME 2205B
Adrianna Eyking Headshot Eyking, Adrianna
Marketing & Communications Officer, Student Services (on leave)
adrianna@mech.ubc.ca
(604) 827-1743
CEME 2205A
Leslie Fernandez Headshot Fernandez, Leslie
Manager, Finance & HR
leslie@mech.ubc.ca
(604) 822-0298
CEME 2054
Gerrits Headshot Gerrits, Heather
Manager, Student Services
heather@mech.ubc.ca
(604) 822-3357
CEME 2205C
Rinna Gotay Headshot Gotay, Rinna
Finance Assistant (part-time)
finance@mech.ubc.ca
(604) 822-4163
CEME 2054
Karsten, Sarah
Admissions & Scheduling Coordinator
sarahk@mech.ubc.ca
(604) 822-9861
CEME 2054
Kim, Jay (Jiwoo)
HR & Finance Specialist
jay@mech.ubc.ca
(604) 827-2023
CEME 2054
Miner, Natasha
Marketing & Communications Officer, Student Services (part-time)
natasha@mech.ubc.ca
(604) 822-4784
CEME 2205E
Mulligan, Heather
Assistant to the Head & Reception
exec.asst@mech.ubc.ca
(604) 822-2781
CEME 2054
Pelletier Headshot Pelletier, Jennifer
Manager, Facilities & Technical Administration
jen@mech.ubc.ca
(604) 827-4090
CEME 2054
Louise Pilon Pilon, Louise
Admissions & Scheduling Coordinator, Student Services (on leave)
louise@mech.ubc.ca
(604) 822-9861
CEME 2205E
deJong Smith, Taylor
Finance & HR Assistant
taylor.smith@ubc.ca
(604) 827-2023
CEME 2205A
Name Contact Info Office
Sean Buxton Buxton, Sean
Program Support Electrical Engineer
sbuxton@mech.ubc.ca
(604) 827-3477
KAIS 1220
Genschorek, Roland
Research Technician / Machinist
roland@mech.ubc.ca
(604) 827-5658
KAIS 1190
Jolly, Glenn
Technician
gjolly@mech.ubc.ca
(604) 822-4530
KAIS 1220
Bernhard Nimmervoll Nimmervoll, Bernhard
Mechatronics Technician
bnimmer@mech.ubc.ca
(604) 822-9893
KAIS 1210
Rawji, Faheem
Instrumentation Technician
faheem@mech.ubc.ca KAIS 1220
Erik Wilson Wilson, Erik
Technician
erikw@mech.ubc.ca
(604) 827-5658
KAIS 1190