Call for Applications: Trudeau Foundation Doctoral Scholarship – Deadline: Dec 21, 2021

Trudeau Foundation Doctoral Scholarships

The Pierre Elliott Trudeau Foundation Scholarship Program offers a three-year leadership program designed to train Engaged Leaders, equipping doctoral candidates with the skills to translate their ideas into action, for the betterment of their communities, Canada, and the world.  At least 12 doctoral Scholars are selected each year and receive generous funding for their studies.  This scholarship program supports doctoral students pursing research in one or more of the Foundation’s Four Themes:  Human Rights and Dignity, Responsible Citizenship, Canada and the World, and People and their Natural Environment.

Value: Up to $40,000 stipend plus up to $20,000 research and travel allowance per year for three years

Application Deadline: 21 December 2021 at 2:00 pm PT (5:00 pm ET)

The Foundation will be offering information sessions for scholarship candidates:

  • 10 November 2021 at 12:30 pm ET (9:30 am PT) – 1.5 hour session for Scholarship candidates (English session) – Register

Reminder: As of the 2020 competition, interested applicants apply directly to the Trudeau Foundation to be considered in the national competition; all interested and eligible applicants may apply.  The University of British Columbia no longer nominates a subset of applicants to the national competition (there is no department-level or university-level adjudication).

For further information, such as detailed eligibility requirements, evaluation criteria, and application procedures, please visit our webpage: https://www.grad.ubc.ca/awards/trudeau-foundation-doctoral-scholarship or the Trudeau Foundaiton webpage: https://www.trudeaufoundation.ca/become-scholar.