MECH Services Available Online

MECH Services Available Online

Mechanical Engineering has begun a gradual return to campus, opening our Administrative and Student Services Offices at the end of August. Electronic correspondence is still preferred, so please email us with your query!

General contacts are provided below, and for more detailed contact information, please visit our general Contact Us page or Faculty and Staff Directory.

Administrative Office

Online Hours: 8 AM – 4 PM, Monday to Friday

Finance:  finance@mech.ubc.ca
Human Resources:  hr@mech.ubc.ca
Facilities and Safety:  facilities@mech.ubc.ca

Student Services Office

Hours: 8 AM – 4 PM, Monday to Friday

The Mech Student Services Office (CEME 2205) will officially re-open on Monday, August 30th. We welcome students to drop-by our office for any quick questions or advice, however, we will continue to be conducting any longer academic advising and course planning appointments virtually via Zoom or phone. As a reminder, all course registration requests continue to be processed via email (students@mech.ubc.ca). You can make an advising appointment with one of our advisors via the APSC PD Portal.

General Student Services Enquiries: 
Email students@mech.ubc.ca or talk to an advisor:

  • Josy Austin: 604-619-9032
  • Sarah Clayton: 604-341-1162

Graduate Admissions:
admissions@mech.ubc.ca | 604-612-2389

Communications:  communications@mech.ubc.ca

Machine Shop

The Machine Shop is currently running MECH 220 and MECH 512. Orientations, student access to shop facilities and resumption of support machining services will begin October 6th 2021, after MECH 220 and MECH 512 have completed and the shop floor has been reconfigured.

Please submit requests for support machining services for research and teaching through the online submission form.

If you have any questions, please email the Machine Shop team at mshop@mech.ubc.ca.

Electronics Shop

The Electronics Shop has limited contact hours at the moment. Equipment can be signed in and out, components can be purchased, etc. at the following times:

  •  10 AM – 4 PM on Thursday
  • All other days by appointment

Drop-ins are not allowed. Email eshop@mech.ubc.ca prior to arrival so equipment can be ready for pickup in order to limit contact time. You can also contact staff directly:

Sean Buxton (course work): sbuxton@mech.ubc.ca
Glenn Jolly (research work): gjolly@mech.ubc.ca

Facilities and Safety

Department buildings are currently closed to students, faculty, and staff, except for those with specific approvals.  For information about building access, please email access@mech.ubc.ca. For all other questions about facilities or safety, please email facilities@mech.ubc.ca, and Jen Pelletier or Naomi Harder would be happy to assist you.

 


More Information

UBC’s Response

Information, latest updates and FAQs are available at ubc.ca.  UBC has also put together a website dedicated to the University’s Coronavirus (COVID-19) at covid19.ubc.ca, which includes updates, information on prevention, and information for students, faculty & staff, as well as resources.