Archives by date

You are browsing the site archives by date.

Dr. Carl Ollivier-Gooch receives the Shahyer Pirzadeh Memorial Award

The Department of Mechanical Engineering is pleased to announce that Dr. Carl Ollivier-Gooch’s technical paper “Assessing Validity of Mesh Refinement Sequences with Application to DPW-III Meshes” which was presented at the 2009 AIAA Aerospace Sciences meeting, AIAA 2009-1174, “has been selected by the AIAA Meshing Visualization and Computational Environments (MVCE) Technical Committee to receive the […]

Technical Award presented to Dr. Clarence De Silva

Dr. Clarence De Silva from the Mechanical Engineering Department along with a list of fellow contributors recently won the Technical Award for their paper, “Distributed DSP for Fault Monitoring and Control” with the associated paper: De Silva, C.W., Tan, K.K., Huang, S., Lee, T.H., and Wu, R., Proceedings of the Digital Signal Processing Creative Design […]

Professor Hongshen Ma receives $100,000 Grand Challenges Explorations Grant for Innovative Global Health Research

Professor Hongshen Ma, from the Department of Mechanical Engineering, has received a $100,000 (USD) grant from the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation. This grant is part of the Grand Challenges Explorations program to support research in Global Health. Professor Ma’s grant will support his work in the development of a low-cost device to detect malaria […]

Mechanical Engineering Alumnus Brent King wins the Manning Innovation Award for inventing the SPIDER

Mechanical Engineering alumnus Brent King (B.A.Sc. ’96) has won the $10,000 Manning Innovation Award for inventing the SPIDER, a device that accurately and securely positions a patient’s limb during surgery. The SPIDER Limb Positioner is used for specialized procedures such as rotator cuff repairs or wrist arthroscopy. Not only does the SPIDER improve the surgeon’s […]

David Goosen, Dr. James Olson and Dick Kerekes are awarded the Van den Akker prize.

Undergraduate Mechanical Engineering student David Goosen, Dr. James Olson and fellow collaborator Dick Kerekes were awarded the Van den Akker prize for advancements in Paper Physics at the Fundamental Research Symposium in Oxford UK. The contribution was for their paper entitled: Goosen D.R., Olson J.A. and Kerekes R.J. “Role of heterogeneity in compression refining” J. […]

James Saunders and Malcolm Shields win the Alternative Energy X Competition

In June the UBC Sustainability Office launched a competition for plans to reduce UBC’s carbon footprint- the Alternative Energy X Competition. Congrats to both James Saunders and Malcolm Shields on this accomplishment.

Professor Emerita Martha Salcudean receives Honorary Doctor of Engineering from the University of Waterloo

Professor Emerita Martha Salcudean receives Honorary Doctor of Engineering from the University of Waterloo at June Convocation On June 13, 2009, UBC Mechanical Engineering Professor Emerita Martha Salcudean received a doctor of engineering degree and addressed convocation at the University of Waterloo. Salcudean is the Weyerhaeuser Industrial Research Chair Emerita in Computational Fluid Dynamics. A […]

Dr. Croft receives the Engineers Canada Fellowship

The Professional Engineers and Geoscientists of BC with Engineers Canada has recognized Dr. Croft’s noteworthy achievement and service to the engineering profession and has bestowed upon her the Engineers Canada Fellowship. Dr. Croft’s current research can be viewed at the Mech Faculty page and her own website. Congratulations to Dr. Croft for being selected for […]

Proof of Principle funding (CIHR) awarded to Dr. Peter Cripton

Dr. Peter Cripton a Professor from the Department of Mechanical Engineering has been funded from the CIHR Proof of Principle program (phase 1) for one of the many projects that the Department has running currently. The funding, 150k for one year, will fund a research engineer, biologic specimens and commercialization costs for a helmet project. […]