Contact Us

CONTACT US

We are beginning our return to campus. Please see the links below for updates, and give us an email or call if you have any questions.
!

Coronavirus (COVID-19) information:

 

Department of Mechanical Engineering
The University of British Columbia
2054-6250 Applied Science Lane
Vancouver BC, V6T 1Z4

Courier deliveries are accepted from 8:00am – 4:00pm | Monday to Friday.

Reception

Telephone: (604) 822-2781
Fax: (604) 822-2403
reception@mech.ubc.ca

CEME 2054
Office Hours: 8:00am – 1:00pm, 2:00pm – 4:00pm | Monday to Friday
Assistance may be available outside these hours by appointment.

Student Services

Telephone: (604) 822-6584
students@mech.ubc.ca

CEME 2205
Office Hours: 8:00am – 4:00pm | Monday to Friday

Book an advising appointment

The Mech Student Services Office (CEME 2205) will officially re-open on Monday, August 30th. We welcome students to drop-by our office for any quick questions or advice, however, we will continue to be conducting any longer academic advising and course planning appointments virtually via Zoom or phone. As a reminder, all course registration requests continue to be processed via email (students@mech.ubc.ca). You can make an advising appointment with one of our advisors via the APSC PD Portal.

Specific Inquiries

First Year Admission to Engineering, Second Year Placement, and Minors

Engineering Academic Services
http://students.engineering.ubc.ca/contact-student-services
(604) 822-6556
KAIS 1100
9:00am - 4:00pm | Monday - Wednesday, Friday
11:00am - 4:00pm | Thursday

MECH 2

Josy Austin
Program & Advising Coordinator
students@mech.ubc.ca
(604) 822-4784
CEME 2205

Dr. Graham R. Hendra
Lecturer and Program Coordinator
hendra@mech.ubc.ca
(604) 827-2412

Third and Fourth Year

Josy Austin
Program & Advising Coordinator
students@mech.ubc.ca
(604) 822-4784
CEME 2205

Prospective Students

Athena Leong
Graduate Admissions
admissions@mech.ubc.ca
(604) 822-9861
CEME 2205

Current Students

Josy Austin
Program & Advising Coordinator
students@mech.ubc.ca
(604) 822-4784
CEME 2205

Dr. Dana Grecov
Graduate Advisor
dgrecov@mech.ubc.ca
(604) 822-6710

Contacts for M.A.Sc/Ph.D Research Areas

Applied Solid Mechanics Dr. Srikantha Phani | srikanth@mech.ubc.ca | (604) 822-6998
Biomechanics & Biomedical Engineering Dr. Hongshen Ma | hongma@mech.ubc.ca | (604) 827-4703
Computational Engineering Dr. Ian Frigaard | frigaard@math.ubc.ca | (604) 822-1316
Energy & Environment Dr. Steven Rogak | rogak@mech.ubc.ca | (604) 822-4149
Fluid Mechanics Dr. Sheldon Green | green@mech.ubc.ca | (604) 822-0497
Manufacturing Automation & Robotics Dr. Clarence de Silva | desilva@mech.ubc.ca | (604) 822-6291
Mechatronics & Instrumentation Dr. Xiaoliang Jin | xjin@mech.ubc.ca | (604) 827-3541
Naval Architecture & Marine Engineering Dr. Rajeev Jaiman | rjaiman@mech.ubc.ca | (604) 827 0609

M.Eng Programs

Naval Architecture and Marine Engineering
Professor Jon Mikkelsen
mikk@mech.ubc.ca
(604) 822-2709

Mechanical Engineering
Dr. Kendall Bushe
wkb@mech.ubc.ca
(604) 822-3398

Mechatronics Design
Dr. Yusuf Altintas
altintas@mech.ubc.ca
(604) 822-5622

For admission information and questions, please visit our admissions page.

Dr. Carl Ollivier-Gooch
Associate Head, Equity, Diversity, Inclusion and Engagement
cfog@mech.ubc.ca
(604) 822-1854

Amelia Pitt-Brooke
Communications & Community Engagement Officer
communications@mech.ubc.ca
(604) 827-1743
CEME 2205

Human Resources

Rico Choi
Operations and HR Manager
hr@mech.ubc.ca
(604) 822-2781
Office: CEME 2054

Finance

Rinna Gotay
Finance Manager
finance@mech.ubc.ca
(604) 822-4163
CEME 2054

Facilities

Jennifer Pelletier
Manager, Facilities & Special Projects
facilities@mech.ubc.ca
(604) 827-4090
CEME 2054

Naomi Harder
Facilities and Safety Coordinator
facilities@mech.ubc.ca
(604) 822-3738
CEME 2054

Mech Local Safety Team

Local Safety Team Members

To send feedback on our website, email communications@mech.ubc.ca