MECH Services Move Online

To support UBC’s social distancing protocols, many Mechanical Engineering employees are working remotely. While our Administrative and Student Services Office spaces are closed, both offices are fully available online. Our Machine Shop and Electronics Shop are also providing online services.  Please email us with your query!

General contacts are provided below, and for more detailed contact information, please visit our general Contact Us page or Faculty and Staff Directory.

Administrative Office

Online Hours: 8 AM – 4 PM, Monday to Friday

Finance:  finance@mech.ubc.ca
Human Resources:  hr@mech.ubc.ca
Facilities and Safety:  facilities@mech.ubc.ca

Student Services Office

Online Hours: 8 AM – 4 PM, Monday to Friday

General Student Services Enquiries: 
Email students@mech.ubc.ca or talk to an advisor:

  • Josy Austin: 604-619-9032
  • Sarah Clayton: 604-341-1162

Graduate Admissions:  admissions@mech.ubc.ca | 604-612-2389
Communications:  communications@mech.ubc.ca

Machine Shop

The Machine Shop is currently closed, but is accepting jobs to queue for when we reopen.  To access these services, please use the online submission form.

Please email Markus Fengler at mfengler@mech.ubc.ca with any Machine Shop enquiries.

Electronics Shop

The Electronics Shop is currently closed.  We are accepting design jobs and providing advice via email.

Sean Buxton (course work): sbuxton@mech.ubc.ca
Glenn Jolly (research work): gjolly@mech.ubc.ca
Usman Rizwan (MANU program inquiries): usman@mech.ubc.ca


More Information

UBC’s Response

Information, latest updates and FAQs are available at ubc.ca.  UBC has also put together a website dedicated to the University’s Coronavirus (COVID-19) at covid19.ubc.ca, which includes updates, information on prevention, and information for students, faculty & staff, as well as resources.

COVID-19 Information for APSC

Applied Science has gathered resources for Undergraduate Engineering Students, Faculty, and Staff at apsc.ubc.ca/covid-19.