2021 Academic and Leadership Awards

The Department of Mechanical Engineering recently recognized current students who have shown outstanding academic achievement and leadership, by presenting them with awards at a special event on Wednesday, November 24th. Awards were presented by Associate Head of Teaching, Dr. Tony Hodgson.

Undergraduate Academic Achievement Awards

A certificate of recognition was presented to exceptional undergraduate students who have excelled academically throughout their degree. Each of the following students achieved an overall sessional average above 90% in the last academic year.

  • David Antoniuk
  • Ryan Carrusca
  • Phoebe Cheung
  • Kyle Chick
  • Gibson Clark
  • Simon Jang
  • Phillip Kosy
  • Jesse Li
  • Arvin Mirzajanian
  • Chu Lip Oon
  • Aman Shah
  • Yuxi Zhang
  • Andrew Zlindra

Department Scholars

Graduate student achievements in academics and research are recognized with the designation of Department Scholar.  This honorary designation may be given to a student at any point in their program, and they hold the designation through the remainder of their degree.

  • Sebastiaan Mainardis – NSERC Master’s Scholarship
  • Arash Mousemi – PhD Four Year Fellowship
  • Nikoo Solton – MASc Affiliated Scholarship
  • Steven Zimmerman ­­– NSERC Master’s Scholarship

Teaching Fellowship

This Fellowship recognizes senior doctoral students who have demonstrated dedication to, and a talent for, teaching. The Teaching Fellowship is awarded annually to 1-2 students based on a competitive application process and includes an award as well as the opportunity to teach within the Department. Each year, the recipient is added to the plaque which hangs in the Department.

2021 Teaching Fellowship Recipient: Elizabeth Trudel

Student Leadership Awards

The Department recognizes outstanding student leaders for their dedication and service to student teams or groups with a Student Leadership Award.  Thank you for your contributions to our Mechanical Engineering community as well as the broader engineering community at UBC!

  • Erik Bokenfohr – Supermileage Co-Captain
  • Sean Bounger – UBC Rocket Captain
  • Ryan Carrusca – UBC Concrete Canoe Co-Captain & Club Mech Grad Rep
  • Phoebe Cheung – AeroDesign Co-Captain
  • Emilie Ho – Club Mech Vice President
  • Allan Kwong – UBC Solar Captain
  • Andrew Mah – SUBC Captain
  • Wojtek Sobczyk – Formula UBC Captain
  • Janet Sun – Club Mech President
  • Kyle Swoboda – Baja Team Captain
  • Willem Van Dam – UBC Rapid Captain
  • Andrew Zlindra – UBC Mars Colony Captain
Congratulations to all our student award winners on their achievements!